State Farm watch lists announced MHS coach, three players up for Class 5A awards

Monticello football coach Van Paschal and three of his players were among those selected to watch lists for the 2009 State Farm Awards.

Paschal is one of 14 coaches in the running for Class 5A coach of the year. The list also includes Greenwood's Rick Jones, Batesville's Dave King and White Hall's Mike Vaughn, among others.

Three Billies - linebacker Joe Carmical, safety Brishen Mathews and defensive end Jordan Tilley - made the watch list for Class 5A defensive player of the year. No other school had more than two players on the list.

The State Farm Awards honor an offensive player, defensive player and coach of the year for each classification. The staff at Hooten's Arkansas Football will select three finalists in each category who will be invited to attend an awards ceremony after the season.

Former MHS defensive lineman Ashton Pennywell won the Class 5A defensive player of the year award last season, while Paschal was among the three finalists for coach of the year.

This year's finalists will be selected and notified the first week of December. The winner will be announced during the ceremony, which will be held December 14 at the IMAX Theatre in Little Rock.

Gary Stephenson, spokesman for State Farm in Arkansas, congratulated the players and coaches who made the lists.

"We don’t know yet who the three finalists in each category will be," he said, "but being named by Hooten's to the watch list is a recognition in itself.  It also adds a little extra motivation to all those named to turn it on going through the playoffs. State Farm salutes all those listed for their achievements this year."

More information on the State Farm Awards is available at <a href=""></a>.

The Advance-Monticellonian

Mailing Address:
PO Box 486
Monticello, AR 71657

Street Address:
314 Main Street
Monticello, AR 71655

Phone: 870-367-5325
Fax: 870-367-6612

Comment Here